Technical Oversight Committee

The Reactive Foundation Technical Oversight Committee (TOC) is responsible for technical direction and project oversight for the Reactive Foundation. The TOC works with the Governing Board to set and achieve the multi-project goals and standards for the Reactive Foundation. The TOC representatives are:

Ryland Degnan

Board Appointee (Chair)

Ryland Degnan is a software engineer at Twitter, where his current focus is on expanding Twitter’s edge infrastructure. Prior to Twitter he was CTO of Netifi and a member of the Netflix Edge Platform team that created RSocket, Hystrix and RxJava. He has over 15 years of experience using reactive and functional programming to build high-performance and scalable distributed systems. Ryland holds an AB from Harvard University and an MSc from the University of Oxford.

Oleh Dokuka

RSocket Representative

Software Engineer who knows how to work with Reactive as a user as well as a developer. Java Champion. Co-author of the book “Hands‑On Reactive Programming in Spring 5”. Works on RSocket and improves Project Reactor along the way

Mark Paluch

R2DBC Representative

Mark Paluch leads the Spring Data efforts at VMware and is involved in various other Spring projects. He designed the reactive Spring Data stack, and he’s very involved in the Reactive Programming scene being the spec lead for the Reactive Relational Database Connectivity (R2DBC) project and maintaining the reactive Lettuce Redis driver. Outside of work, he is a passionate trance music producer.

James Townley

Lightbend Appointee

James Townley is the Community Manager for the Reactive Foundation. He is an experienced Reactive Systems Architect, Project Manager, Agile coach, Leader, Trainer and Developer. He has a love of simple and tries to have that reflect in his work.

Simon Baslé

VMware Appointee

Software Development Enthusiast. Reactor Software Engineer.

Viktor Klang

Reactive Streams Representative

Viktor Klang is a problem solver, software developer, co-creator of, prolific contributor to the Akka project, Akka Tech Lead Emeritus, co-founding member of the Reactive Streams Special Interest Group, and contributor to the Scala Standard Library's «Future & Promise».

  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn




© 2021 All rights reserved. The Linux Foundation has registered trademarks and uses trademarks. For a list of trademarks of The Linux Foundation, please see our Trademark Usage page. Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds. Privacy Policy and Terms of Use